From a Farmer’s Desk


I am glad to say that I had Cheera kari as side dish for my lunch today. I myself with my own hand grew that cheera in my garden. After all my father was a farmer (cf. Duet.26:5). These pictures are before they were cut. Thanks to Paul and his wife Annie who gave me the seeds when I visited them in October last at their place in San Francisco.

Curry Cheera Curry Cheera I grew in my garden

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shinu
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 23:04:09

    Respected Thirumeni,
    Meals always tastes good with homegrown vegetables. Hope you had a wonderful lunch…

    Reply

  2. Yuhanon Meletius
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 04:13:57

    Yes Shinu, it tasted very good and I had a wonderful lunch. Thanks for the comment. God be with you

    Reply

  3. hrudayaspandanam
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 04:30:22

    Thirumeni, so glad to see your amaranth plants. We too have both varieties (green &red) on the terrace. My son loves leafy Vegetable. I see you also have water lilies. We have the big ones in a large tank. Our attempt to grow the small ones in a basin has been thwarted by crows who mess up the basin and destroy the plant as they use it as a bird bath. Cheera can be made into thoran, cutlet with potato, stew along with the tender stems and whole leaves etc. Try a Koval. It gives plenty of kovakka and the tender leaves can be made into thoran. Payar also grows well on the terrace as do tomatoes, brinjal, birds eye chillies and ladies finger.

    Reply

  4. hrudayaspandanam
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 04:31:09

    But Thirumeni, you would be too busy for all this.

    Reply

  5. Yuhanon Meletius
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 05:43:35

    Dear Susan. Thanks for the comment.
    Yes it is not easy, but what little time I get I spend in my garden. I have five varieties of water lily.and a pond of white lotus. I have a big pond where I have fish and there was a red water lily plant too. But the fish eat the leaves and hence it does give any flower. The property I have is a filled in plot with fresh soil. So it is not easy to grow koyakka as there is not much nutrition in the soil. But taking your suggestion seriously I will try that in a big pot like the one I use for cheera.
    Thirumeni

    Reply

Leave a Reply

